And Here We Go

Disclaimer: I am writing this with full permission of Colin.

On January 1st Colin and I spent our 2nd Anniversary at my Aunt and Uncle’s lake house.  It was beautiful and so very serene.  Aside from a lake and water toys there was one other thing that the lake house has that Colin and I do not—Cable.  Many of you know that Colin and I utilize our 50 inch tv as a monitor and do most of our TV watching from a laptop.  So not having a couple $100 cable bill also affords us the luxury of no info-mercials!  Well, at the lake house there is cable and info-mercials.  We stumbled upon a P90X info-merical.

Upon watching the very informative commercial Colin wanted to research this workout plan and was ready to “Bring IT!”  That is a common P90X phrase.  Well after researching and acquiring the DVDs, thanks John, we have now embarked on the journey that is P90X!  Check out videos for the program here.

Colin has talked to a lot of his friends and they all say that it is tough.  Which makes perfect sense and I would be disappointed if it were easy.  I have talked to my friends and have been on a recruitment campaign.  My efforts paid off and I did manage to get one friend to join me on this crazy journey that is P90X!  We have acquired chin-up bars—neither of us can do a chin-up—weights, protein powder, and snack bars.

The workout part of this adventure is pretty straight forward.  You workout an hour a day with whichever video is scheduled and you sweat a lot.  Beach Body, the people who invented P90X use what they call muscle confusion to keep you from plateauing.  I guess I get the concept but, at this point I’m just trying to stay excited about my new 5am wake-up call!  Yeah that’s right we’re working out in the AM!  If this workout program works–which I have no doubt it will–I will hopefully be fairly attractive by the time my B-Day rolls around!  That means that this year for my b-day I will be smokin, I will look awesome for my family reunion, AND for the lake this summer!

So tonight Colin and I get to go grocery shopping!  That’s right part of the P90X program is the nutritional plan.  The nutritional plan follows the workout structure in that it’s divided up into 3 phases, properly named phase 1, 2 and 3.  The nutritional plan is not bad at all.  There are a ton of options and it’s really about eating “clean” as a lot of people who work out say.  The first phase is like 60% protein.  They say it’s for cleansing.  This phase can last the full 30 days but more than likely it only lasts a few weeks due to the need for carbs for energy.  Phase 2 is more balanced diet, BUT if you want to really see all the benefits of P90X you have to make the jump to Phase 3, which is 60% carbs.  Tony Horton says this phase “has to be earned.”  It’s more along the lines of an athlete diet so if you aren’t working your but off and truly “Bringing It!” then you haven’t earned Phase 3 diet.

So within the 3 phases of the diet there are three different ways to approach the diet.  We were initially going to go with the menu plan.  There is a week menu and it has all these different meals for you to eat.  It is very diverse but it doesn’t use the same thing twice and of the people who have done it this way say it’s very expensive.  So we are going to try the portion plan.  This way gives us a grocery list of what we can eat and how much.  I found this website and she does a good job of breaking down the nutrition part into manageable chunks.  We’ll see.

Well, Colin said I could document our success here!  As we go through the 90 days I’ll post up here (cross fingers) a couple of times a week to let all y’all in on how it’s going.  If anybody has done P90X please comment below and let me know what you thought about the program.  We did take before pictures, and might I say that I now have proof that my husband did not marry me for my body….bless his heart.

5 comments

  1. amy ross

    Greg and I did P90X for about 6-7 weeks 2 years ago. We both ended up getting sick and never could get back into the groove – which was fine w/ me b/c I was already working out and I basically did it with him to hold him accountable (easier to workout with a buddy). NOTE: Tony Horton WILL get on your nerves!!! And each time you hear him say the same annoying statments he does…it gets more annoying. Once you get past it, you’ll be fine. I’d recommend the Shakeology cleanse though…it works best when you are starting a new workout routine. It’s made by BeachBody and has 2 flavors and I think a new tropical flavor is coming out. I actually have a good friend who is a BeachBody coach and she is amazing. She can you some Shakeology samples, gives great advice, holds you accountable for your workouts, etc. She’s just all around great. Can I put her in touch with you?? Also, more good BB workouts are TurboJam and 10 Min Trainer. Good luck!

    • cumbiedays

      Of course you can! We just can’t pay her…if that makes a difference. We borrowed the program from a friend and are borrowing weights from DK and bought open box chin-up bars for like $10, and we’re grocery shopping at Sams. We’re doing it on the extreme cheap! But for sure any additional accountability is always appreciated!

    • cumbiedays

      OH heck no! I intend on having VS model legs come May! I am determined to not let the “Rowe Thigh” issue become MY issue! Plus doughnuts aren’t my favorite…can we all say TOFU?!! Cause that’s what I’m gonna be eating!

Leave a Reply

