P90X Worthy Tofu Recipe

Well, it seems that we will be grocery shopping every week.  We are constantly running out of milk, mixed veggies, or bocca burgers.  I have a friend who is drinking the P90X kool-aid with Colin and I and she too is of the vegetarian persuasion.  She told me I should try and fix some tofu, as just eating bocca burgers for my protein was getting old.  I don’t know about you people, but tofu and I have a very strict relationship.

I like my food to have a certain consistency.  I don’t want it be like wet bread in my mouth, I don’t want it feel like gum but taste like stir fry.  I know, I know, I’m demanding, but I also don’t like trying to swallow my food between gags either!  While we were in Chicago I found the best restaurant for tofu.  I think they fried it, but it was kinda crunchy and it tasted oh so good in soy sauce!  I have also had it in Tulsa at P.F. Changs and it felt like something growing and dissolving in my mouth.  Almost like foam, or a blooming flower, but at the same time it like dissolved.  It was horrible.

Back to the friend, Happy Birthday Shay, she gave me this recipe for tofu.  So when we went to pick up more veggie dogs we saw that a block of tofu was on sale so we bought a block and I gave it a try.  I should have taken pictures, but I had a sick hubby so I was playing nursemaid this weekend.  I’ll make it again and take pictures and post them in the gallery.  But here is the recipe and it was adapted from this recipe to make it P90X worthy!

1 Block of Extra Firm Tofu
.5 t garlic powder
.5 t onion powder
2 T Worcestershire
2 T soy sauce
2 T H2O
1 T ketchup
.25 t mustard
1 t lemon juice
1 T honey

Press tofu either in a press.  Or if you don’t have one handy here is how I did it:

Line a small brownie pan with dish towels, I used 2. Take a paper towel and fold it twice into a large square.  Place folded paper towel in center of brownie pan.  Drain excess water from tofu container, then place block of tofu on folded paper towel.  Take another paper towel, fold into a large square and place on top of tofu, then place another dish towel on top of the paper towel.  Lastly place another brownie pan on top of the dish towel and then put something heavy (like a weight) in the brownie pan.  So you should have brownie pan, dish towels, paper towel, tofu, paper towel, dish towel, brownie pan and a weight.  Let sit all day.

Once you’ve pressed your tofu then mix all other ingredients in a bowl.  Cut tofu into squares.  Pour sauce and tofu squares in a Ziploc baggie and let the tofu marinate.  I did mine overnight, the longer it sits the more flavors the tofu will take on.

Turn your oven to broil and broil 4-6 minutes on each side.

For P90x 3oz of the squares count as 1 protein serving.

Colin tried them and said they were good.  They reminded me of chicken nuggets.  You can dip them in whatever you like.  I made stir fry the other night and put a serving in there.  Really good with soy and some saracha!

Ok well I’ll be making more probably tomorrow as I have to work my other job tonight!  Look for pics on Tuesday!

Get Your Mind Right and Bring IT!

One comment

  1. Pingback: The Long Awaited Tofu Dipppers | Cumbie Days

Leave a Reply

