P90X Mac and Cheese

Cooking in my house has turned into a bit of a circus.  I don’t eat meat and Colin makes up for it.  Which is fine, we eat a balanced diet–a P90X diet.  I have relied on this site for a lot of help as far as recipes go because really you can only eat steamed veggies and bocca burgers for so long before you just don’t want to eat anymore.

Well I saw this recipe and knew I wanted to try it as I LOVE mac and cheese.  My grandmother makes it every year for Thanksgiving and our family reunion.  But Tony Horton doesn’t live by the same mantra that my grandmother does…”If it doesn’t taste right add a stick of butter…still not right add some sugar!”  I love that woman but I don’t know how she doesn’t weight more than she does!

So on to how I made this delish guilt free Mac N Cheese:

Take this recipe and multiply it by 3!

Seriously!  You will have a TON of M’n’C! Quick back story:  When we were grocery shopping I bought a bag of 24oz elbow noodles.  When we got back from shopping, not taking the recipe with me or looking at it before we left, I promptly cooked all the noodles.  So then I had to multiply the recipe by three!  If you don’t want to do that then here are the changes that I made–and it makes it OH SO much better!

Delete the yogurt
Add 1/3 c egg beaters (1 c if making 24 oz of pasta)
1/4 t garlic powder
1/4 t onion powder
1/4 t basil (the secret sauce!)
**we found as fat-free a cheese as we could find (mexican mix)

Cook noodles, mix all other ingredients together.  Add noodles then bake!

I divided it into two baking dishes and baked until brown on top at 350.

It is so good and it has fat free cottage cheese,  as fat free as you can find yellow cheese, and egg beaters!  After I mixed the cheeses and seasoning i wanted to sit down with a bowl of chips and watch House of Lies.

SO good!  And good for you!

Yum good for you Mac n Cheese

3 comments

  1. CJ =)

    Thanks for linking to my recipe, cumbiedays! Another thing you can do if you don’t want to use the yogurt is use fat-free sour cream. That makes it even more superscrumptious! Another option is to add silken tofu, which adds protein and creaminess without the tang of yogurt. =)
    – CJ =)

    • cumbiedays

      Totally CJ!! Your site has helped my husband and I out tremendously. I try to link to you every time I can! Thanks for the tofu tip!! I’ve just started cooking with it, so I’m always looking for new ways to use it.

Leave a Reply

