Oatmeal Pancakes

Friday night I had to work at Antrho and Colin decided to replace our dying computer so he had to make a trip to almost Texas…that means he met his mother close to the Texas border.  She was bringing him computer parts, so when I got off he still wasn’t home.  I thought since we had to wake up sunrise early on Saturday, I would pre-make the pancakes so that all he had to do was heat them up in the microwave and go.

These guys were interesting to make.  As I looked over the recipe I could not understand how Oatmeal and Cottage Cheese could become pancakes.  But I dove in cause how long can a girl just eat steamed veggies?!

My first batch kinda flopped–no pun intended.  I at one point owned a griddle, but pieces broke off and it was a pain to keep up with the pieces during moves so I just ditched it.  So this time I had to cook my pancakes in a very large skillet.  So the first batch did not do very well.  I don’t know if it is because I didn’t grease it well enough or it was too hot.  So when I did the second batch I kept the heat to Medium High and coated the pan in non-stick cooking spray.

The next two batches came out great. OH I also coated the spatula when I went to flip them.  I was surprised by how delicious they were.  The recipe says that if you want them to be sweeter that you can add Splenda or something of that nature, but I don’t think that they need any additional sweeteners.  Colin had some before work and he ate them with a bit of jelly and a bit of honey.

Next time I think I’m going to double the batch.  It only made 9 pancakes, which is fine but I like to have left overs and since the first three didn’t come out right we only had 6.  And in our house this means that all 6 belong to Colin.  This isn’t something that he insists upon, but instead a way that I’ve learned.  If I find something (especially on P90X) that he likes but it only makes a few of them then I let him have them.

These guys would be great made with any flavor low/no sugar jelly, and I think next time, if I can find it, I want to try to use apple jelly.  I don’t know the breakdown of how many pancakes it takes to make a single serving of carbohydrates, but I think it’s around 3.  I hope you guys enjoy this and let me know how you modify it!

.5 c of oatmeal

1 c Egg Beaters or 4 egg whites

.25 c fat free or low-fat cottage cheese

2T low/no sugar strawberry jelly

Put all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.  The batter will be thick-ish and it will be pink!  Either spray skillet with plenty of non-stick (since these guys don’t have any butter or oil in them they will stick easily.) or use a non-stick griddle.  Pour batter into circles, or shapes.  Cook until you see bubbles and then flip.  Please note that mine did not make these big fluffy pancakes.  This might be because I blended it for too long.  If you’rs do come out fluffy please let me know what you did.

Here is the nutritional value breakdown:

For the whole Batch
370 Calories
3.5g Total Fat
36g Total Protein
39g Total Carbs

Leave a Reply

