The Best Muffins In The World

Tony Horton says this a lot in his videos, that P90X is not something that you haphazardly decide to do.  It is a commitment.  I wholeheartedly agree, if you want this program to work and truly give you the results that it says you can achieve then you have to commit to not only the exercise part but also the nutrition part.

Pears!! As you can see I didn't peal the pears first!

The first month was pretty difficult for us but we got the hang of it.  Now since then, we have since modified our eating a bit.  We do not write things down anymore, and we don’t work on getting all 8 veggie servings in every day.  We eat protein with most meals and we keep track of how many carbs we eat.  The one thing that we really do stringently keep track of is what we eat.  By that I mean, P90X gives you a list of food you can eat and we stick to that list.

Granola yum yum...I 'm gonna get me suuuuu-uuuhhhmmmmm

One thing that is a definite “no-no” is sweets.  We no longer eat sweets…of any kind.  If I want something sweet I eat an apple, or peanut butter and honey, or fruit.  Well then I found this recipe.  Pear Granola Muffins.  Just the name evokes images of fluffy muffins with a sweet cream cheese center and a crunchy top.  How could this recipe not taste yummy?!  How could something containing pears, pear nectar, and granola NOT be the best muffin in the world.

Nutmeg...the good stuff

So I made a batch, and they do not disappoint.  One muffin is equal to one carb serving! Now after dinner I take a muffin, heat it up and split it open, then I drizzle it with honey, not because it needs to be anymore sweet–cause it doesn’t–but when you can’t have cream cheese, honey will do!

Muffin Batter

I think when 90 days is over I might just give them a go with cream cheese filling.  But I for sure want to try this ‘pea out with apples, and maybe even pumpkin.  What fruit could you see blending nicely with granola?  This just hit me can you say, “Strawberry Banana!”  I love these little muffins and their endless possibilities.  I hope you love them too.

Pear Granola Muffins:
3/4 c canned pear nectar
2 egg whites
2T veggie oil
1T lemon juice
1 c whole wheat flour
1 c all-purpose flour
2/3 c brown sugar, packed
1/2 c low-fat granola
1T baking powder
1/2 t nutmeg
1/2 t salt
1-1/4 cups pear, chopped
***I added/substituted the following:
1T vanilla extract
2 c whole wheat flour (I didn’t have all-purpose so I just used whole wheat)
I bought my granola at whole foods, and used Apple Cinnamon flavor.

1.  Preheat oven 350.
2.  Whisk together first five ingredients in large bowl to blend.
3.  Stir both flours and sugar in medium bowl until no sugar lumps remain.
4.  Mix in granola, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt.  Add pear; toss to coat.  Stir in flour mixture.
5.   Bake until golden brown and tester inserted into center comes out clean (about 20 minutes).  Transfer muffins to rack and cool if you can wait that long.

Can we all agree that these look divine?!

These are awesome!  If I didn’t have a job I would make certain that we had these every morning.  Here is their breakdown per serving:

227 Calories
5g Total Fat
5g Protein
43g Protein
1 Muffin=1 Carbohydrate

Let me know if you give these bad boys a try.  They are delicious and I want to know what type of combinations you come up with!  PS these would also be great with some of that Sugar Free Strawberry Jelly we used on the Oatmeal Pancakes!

Wonder how long these are gonna last?

Leave a Reply

