Veggie Burger Done Right

I am a vegetarian.  The only meat I eat is sushi.  It is the one thing I could not give up.  When I lived in Chicago I had an unlimited supply of AMAZING sushi, in fact I would eat sushi once or twice a week!  Since we’ve moved I’ve only eaten sushi once in 6 months!  I won’t lie, it scares me a little that they market it as “real sushi” here…I mean what else would it be “fake”….

The Good Stuff

Leaving Chicago didn’t just leave me without my fav sushi spots, it also left a huge void in the department of great vegetarian food.  In particular I really miss my veggie burgers.  There are two really great burger joints in Chicago that I truly loved going to.  The first is Counter Bar, it’s a build your own burger and I think their sweet potato fries are exceptional.  The second, and quite frankly the better of the two I believe, is Burger Bar.  O-M-G!!!!  I stopped in here for lunch one day and had a veggie burger and my server suggested I add a fried dippy egg to it.  I did and it was the absolute best burger I have ever eaten–including meat ones!

Out of my lack grew longing, and out of this longing grew searching and my searching landed me on this great website called food.com.  Here I found some amazing sounding recipes.  Well tonight the thought of having to eat another boca burger made me want to start a fast.  So I pulled out one of my veggie recipes and got to cooking.

Blend Well

Ladies and gents I have found an amazing burger recipe!  So I come from the south and the woman that raised me always said there were two things that you added to every recipe: 1) “season it till tastes right” and 2) “butter will make anything better, so if you are unsure add another stick.”  Now she was kidding about the whole stick, but I learned how to cook but seasoning food and adding butter.  So if I didn’t like the way something tasted, I would try seasoning, then a  pat of butter, and I’d keep going to till it tasted like home.

Well this recipe I only added 2 pinches of pepper! I really hope you enjoy this recipe and don’t think this isn’t good enough for a man, cause mine thought they were amazing!

Cooking in the pan

Here they are and I’m sorry I don’t know the P90X conversion rate for this one:
Corn and Two Bean Burgers
2T olive oil
15oz can kidney beans
15oz black beans
1/3c dry breadcrumbs
1/4c whole kernel corn
1/4c chopped onion
1 large egg
***Changes I made:
I used a whole can of sweet corn
I used italian flavored bread crumbs
I added 1/4c of bread crumbs
I added 2 pinches of black pepper
I omitted the chopped onions

Heat oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat.
Combine kidney beans and black beans in a large bowl; partially mash with a fork. Add breadcrumbs, corn, onion, and egg; stir until well blended.  Form bean mixture into 4 (1/2-inch-thick) patties. Add patties to pan; cook 4 minutes on each side or until crisp and beginning to brown.

Ta-Da

I will say that cooking 4 minutes on each side is absolutely mandatory.  If you don’t then they won’t stay together and won’t flip well.  I ate mine with cheese, ketchup, mustard, and some lettuce!  All I needed was a fried dippy egg and some avocado, then it would be the best burger….almost as good as Burger Bar’s!

Yum!!!

Leave a Reply

