Chili Rellenos…..But With A Twist!

I love Chili Rellenos.  They are a great vegetarian Mexican dish and I love all the cheese and will eat the entire chili pepper!  My issue with Chili Rellenos now is that it’s fried and overly stuffed with fatty cheese.  So I found this recipe, from none other than the lovely CJ!! (PS LOVE the new look of the site girl!!) and I made it MY way and fixed the fat problem of the original!  AND I de-vegatarian-ized it, for the hubbs, well CJ did that too 😉 !  The only problem with this recipe is that I don’t have the nutritional info.  Now this is a great and healthy meal, but again I don’t have all the Nutritional Information.  With that being sad here is my take on healthy Chili Rellenos:

One chicken rolled and ready into the bell pepper

Typical Chili Rellenos (CR for short) is a bell pepper that has been stuffed with cheese, breaded, and fried.  That is NOT a healthy meal.  I found this recipe and knew I could re-create it and it would make a great P90X meal.  Here is what you will need:

2 medium green bell peppers
6 slices low-fat provolone cheese
2 chicken breasts
1.25c of broth (chicken, beef, or veggie)
garlic powder
onion powder
chili powder
cilantro
cumin
small can tomato sauce
1 can mexican stewed tomato with jalapeno
cooked rice
salt
pepper

Pre-heat oven to 375.  Line a brownie pan with non-stick foil or foil and spray with non-stick spray.  Take chicken breasts and season with salt, pepper, garlic, onion, and chili powder.  I’m sorry I can’t give you exact measurements on the seasoning.  I took the seasonings and just sprinkled it across the breasts.  Season both sides and then take one slice of provolone cheese and roll the chicken and cheese.  Cut each green pepper in half and then put a rolled chicken breast in each half.  Bake these at 375 for about 10 min.  Place another slice of cheese on top of each chicken breast.  Cover with foil and bake for another 20 min or until done.

Rolling chicken

While the chicken is cooking, start rice if you don’t have any already cooked.  You also want to start cooking the red sauce that we are going to put on top of the rice.  Empty a can of Mexican stewed tomatoes, a small can of tomato sauce, and the broth and let it come to a simmer.  Add 1T onion powder, 1t garlic powder, 1/4t chili powder, 1t cumin and  a pinch of cilantro and boil until chicken is done.  When the rice is done the chicken should be finished as well.

My plate!

Colin loved it.  I was a little skeptical that it wouldn’t turn out since I was operating from memory and didn’t have the recipe in front of me.  I’m so glad it turned out.  I don’t eat chicken so I just put cheese in my peppers.  Rice is an adjustment with out butter, but the flavors were so good!  I look forward to eating this for lunch or supper tomorrow!

Colin's Plate

If anybody knows how to calculate calories, protein, fat and salt, let me know so that I can do the same for this one.  CJ says that it’s worth 1 P90X protein and 1 Dairy.  PS if you haven’t visited CJ’s site and you’re doing P90X–you have to go.  She has great foundation recipes that are so easy to take and put you’re own spin on without worrying about all the calories and fat!

Leave a Reply

